2024 FAME Award winners announced

Julie Telesca, director of nutrition services at Grapevine-Colleyville ISD in Texas, received the Golden Foodservice Director of the Year Award.
A student hold a lunch tray full of food
The winners will be honored during the 35th annual FAME awards ceremony in January. | Photo: Shutterstock

The recipients of the 2024 FAME (Foodservice Achievement Management Excellence Awards) have been announced. 

Julie Telesca, director of nutrition services at Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District in Grapevine, Texas, received the Golden Foodservice Director of the Year Award, FAME’s most prestigious honor. 

As nutrition director, Telesca has kept her budget in good financial standing over the last three years. She was one of the first districts in her area to introduce a cooking class for students, along with additional initiatives to connect the cafeteria to the classroom. Telesca has also implemented a plant-based menu rollout, which included new dishes, staff training videos and marketing via social media posts. 

Lauren Weyand, director of school nutrition at Craven County Schools in New Bern, N.C., was awarded the Silver Leadership Award for her commitment to making sure her employees feel valued and purposeful. She took the lead on creating a team logo and mission statement, and through her leadership, the team was able to increase the district’s daily breakfast participation from 35% to 70%.  

The Silver Spirit Award was given to Karyn Buckner who is the foodservice cooperative manager for Region 8 ESC Co-Op in Pittsburg, Texas. Buckner currently manages the food procurement for 63 districts in the area with just a staff of two. Under her direction, the co-op has seen success in its training, customer service, TDA communication, marketing and commodity processing planning.

The Rising Star Award winner is Moss Crutchfield, food service director at Epping School District in Epping, N.H. Crutchfield has adopted a ‘Bob Ross’ style of management and enjoys having a first name basis with students, faculty and staff. Over the last two years, he has increased breakfast and lunch participation by 139% and 43% respectively.

The 35th annual FAME awards ceremony will be held on January 14 during the School Nutrition Industry Conference in Orlando. A member of the FoodService Director editorial team was part of the selection committee. 



More from our partners