School Nutrition Association announces its 2022 award winners

The recipients have been announced just ahead of National School Lunch Hero Day.
A cafeteria employee helps serve lunch.
Photo: Shutterstock

The School Nutrition Association has announced its 2022 national award winners just in time for National School Lunch Hero Day which takes place on May 6. Here’s a look at this year’s winners.

National Employee of the Year award

Stephanie Sheley

Holmen High School

School District of Holmen

Holmen, Wis.

Sheley is credited for designing the school’s salad bar and grab-and-go salad options which include a chicken bacon ranch salad, cranberry walnut blue cheese salad and more. She is also known at the high school for her infectious personality and takes the time to learn students’ names and get to know them.

National Manager of the Year Award

Sharon Owensby

Catering Manager

Lee’s Summit High School

Lee’s Summit R-7 School District

Kansas City, Mo.

When COVID-19 hit, Owensby and her team worked to keep kids fed through curbside meals. She was recognized for her work during the pandemic with a Character Award of Perseverancefrom the Mayor.

Owensby is also known for her dedication to put students’ needs first. She is always asking students to share their opinions on the menu and tries to incorporate foods that they suggest. She also encourages her team to make an effort to get to know the students by name.

National Director of the Year Award

Robert Rolfe

School Nutrition Director

Henderson County Public Schools

Hendersonville, N.C.

Rolfe is known for helping launch the district’s summer feeding program in 2017. Today, the program serves students at several school sites and from two buses which make 22 different stops throughout the community. Rolfe also helped create a composting program at six of the elementary schools and has implemented a bonus system for staff along with a reimbursement for slip resistant shoes.


More from our partners