SNA announces Districts of Excellence

MARCH 31—The School Nutrition Association has announced four new Districts of Excellence. The districts are: Dallas Independent School District in Texas, Polk County Public Schools in Bartow, Fla., Willamina School District in Oregon and El Paso Independent School District in Texas.

To be named a District of Excellence, a school nutrition department must meet Keys to Excellence, a best practice standards tool for school nutrition professionals to use to assess, benchmark and improve their school food and nutrition operations.

The four Districts of Excellence can apply for the District of the Year Award, which is announced at the Annual National Conference in Dallas July 11-14.

The directors at the four districts are: Dora Rivas for Dallas ISD, Marcia Smith for Polk County, Lynne Flynn for Willamini and Nancy Nordell for El Paso ISD.

“This designation from the School Nutrition Association is a great honor because it recognizes the dedication and excellence of local school food and nutrition operators and the tremendous effort they take to make school meals attractive, nutritious and affordable,” said Barbara Belmont, SNA executive director.