Ark. school foodservice directors form alliance

Work together to comply with new school regulations.

Sept. 24—Several school food service directors in northeast Arkansas have formed an alliance to work together in complying with the new federal regulations for school menus.

The Northeast Arkansas School Nutrition Consortium includes 20 food service directors from school districts in Armorel, Blytheville, Brookland, Buffalo Island Central, Corning, Cross County, East Poinsett County, Gosnell, Harrisburg, Manila, Marmaduke, Marked Tree, Newport, Nettleton, Piggott, Rector, Riverside, South Mississippi, Trumann and Wynne.

"We have pooled all our resources to purchase and network together," said Harrisburg Public Schools Child Nutrition Director Dolores Sutterfield. 

More From FoodService Director

Ideas and Innovation
food snap

We started a 50-member vegan team in response to students expressing the need for more vegan options. Between our monthly meetings, students are asked to take photos of foods they eat in and out of the dining halls to give us a true picture of the kinds of things they like and the kinds of foods that cause disappointment. This exercise has sparked a lot of conversation and given us more insight into what we could do better.

Ideas and Innovation
hybrid worker

Some of our employees can work four 10-hour days. It’s really helped with balance. We’ve also created a lot of hybrid positions, such as a personal services assistant and foodservice worker role. It allows workers to pick up more shifts and cover both positions.

Ideas and Innovation

We set up an interactive collaboration with our dietetics department where students worked with our culinary team to test how recipes are imagined and produced. One of the recipes they came up with was a barbecue tempeh sandwich, which they believed was a great option for vegan students across campus. We added the sandwich to our On the Go program and then expanded it to our vegan station on campus due to its success.

Ideas and Innovation
salad bowl

We have reorganized our salad bars to not only include the traditional DIY salad ingredients, but also several daily entree salads. Our students requested 32-ounce heavy glass salad bowls that have been wildly popular. The big bowls allow students to load up on their favorite salads and customize with additional ingredients from around the servery. We have seen a significant surge in usage that cuts across all groups, including athletes.

FSD Resources