2010 Silver Plate Winners Announced

March 1—A former FoodService Director FSD of the Year and two former FSDs of the Month headline the 2010 class of Silver Plate Awards, presented by the International Food Manufacturers Association.

Major Robert James Beach, director of foodservice for the Orleans Parish Sheriff’s Office in New Orleans, won a Silver Plate in the Specialty Foodservice category. Beach was FSD’s Foodservice Director of the Year for 2005.

Specialty foodservice is the catch-all category that includes corrections, military, cruise lines, theme parks and caterers.

Tony Almeida, director of food & nutrition/environmental/host services at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital in New Brunswick, N.J., won in the Healthcare category. Almeida was an FSD of the Month in 2005.

Tim Dietzler, director of dining services at Villanova University in Pennsyl­vania, won in the College & University segment. Dietzler was an FSD of the Month in 2008.

The other non-commercial operators earning Silver Plate nods this year are Laura Lozano, facilities manager for Dell Global Dining in San Antonio, in the Business & Industry category; and Joanne Kinsey, director of school nutrition services for Chesapeake (Va.) Public Schools.

The five will join four commercial operators in Chicago to be feted by IFMA during the National Restaurant Association show in Chicago, May 22-25, the culmination of which will be the awarding of the Gold Plate to one of the Silver Plate honorees.

The five non-commercial winners will be profiled in the April issue of FoodService Director.